No Angels

Eli Hinze

Rating: ♣ ♣ ♣ ♣ (4 )

When starting this book I was not sure what to think of it. It had talking cats and references to myth, christian belief, and other religions, and fantasy. I was thrown a little by the words like “Epilektoi” and “Diaspora” not getting the meaning of them but, that soon faded. I was drawn into the characters especially Liz and Riven. I was pulled into the hard-hitting training of Liz and the purpose of what was ahead of her. I liked how the story had a little of everything in it and it flowed smoothly. I loved envisioning all the places and people as they were described. I did feel sorry for the character of Mark who seemed lost in the story and not really having purpose there but, loved how some of the characters were fierce and some nurturing and kind. I stayed up late the last few chapters excited to see how the story would play out. I really enjoyed this book and I recommend it to those who love to read fantasy and fiction.

Favorite quote:

“what you do now determines what’s at the end of the tunnel for you. I’m not only asking you to put your back into it, but your heart too!  That’s because not only your life is in this, everyone’s is. Keep moving!” ~No Angels

Book description:  Liz Patrona never expected to lose her normal life completely. She never expected that people’s memories of her would vanish, or that all records of her existence would disappear. She never expected to be stolen away to a city beneath the desert. And she definitely never expected to be told she was the God-chosen barrier between the common man and paranormal threats.

Liz is a teenager perfectly happy with her mediocrity, that is, before she’s taken by a peculiar group of people and forced into a role she never imagined, – and definitely doesn’t want. Distinguishing illusion from reality, realizing her abilities as a pyrokinetic, and keeping other-worldly objects from the hands of normal folk are only some of the things that await her. Prepared for this by her new mentor, a rude, possibly sadistic, but oddly attracting man, Liz braces herself for what is to come. But many an unknown thing lurks here, and what she doesn’t know may just kill her.

Find the book:

Amazon.com

Comments
  1. Eli Hinze says:

    Thank you very much for your kind review! I appreciate it greatly.

    • kimshay says:

      You are welcome. I really enjoyed the read so thank you. Let me know if you release anything new.

      • Eli Hinze says:

        Will do! And again, thanks!

      • Eli Hinze says:

        Hello, again!

        I have a few things to ask of you. One, if it’s not too much of a bother, could you cross post this review to Amazon? It would help me out tremendously!

        And two, the second installment of the No Angels trilogy, Collapsed Cathedrals, is coming out in less than a week!
        (You can find it on Goodreads here: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17303213-collapsed-cathedrals )
        I didn’t know if you possibly wanted to be an advanced reader for it? All I’d need is your email to send you a copy of the book, and for you to post a review on Amazon and Goodreads between June 21st and 28th. Let me know if this offer catches your interest!

        Sincerely,
        Eli Hinze

  2. kimshay says:

    Yes I would love to be an advance reader of it!!! I think I did leave a review on amazon but, if not I will go back and do it. I can’t wait to read it!!!

Leave a Reply

