Posted in Books

Books – I capture the castle

I capture the castle

Dodie Smith

Rating: ♣♣♣♣ (4) I really liked it.

Description:

I Capture the Castle tells the story of seventeen-year-old Cassandra and her family, who live in not-so-genteel poverty in a ramshackle old English castle. Here she strives, over six turbulent months, to hone her writing skills. She fills three notebooks with sharply funny yet poignant entries. Her journals candidly chronicle the great changes that take place within the castle’s walls, and her own first descent into love. By the time she pens her final entry, she has “captured the castle”–and the heart of the reader–in one of literature’s most enchanting entertainments.

 What I thought:

I was not sure I would enjoy this book starting out but, it drew me in the more I read. Anyone who has a passion or interest in writing can relate to the story. The love triangles are inspiring and sad. This coming of age novel is very interesting in the time period it is set in. The psychological aspects in the book are very deep and interesting. The father in the story– do you think he was mad or a genius? You feel for the characters and relish in the descriptions of the homes and environment.

A favorite part of the book:

I loved the main characters search for what would lift her depressive mood. I love the search for God and her mothers voice. I also like her conversations with the dressmakers form.

Where you can find the book:

amazon.com, library

4 thoughts on “Books – I capture the castle

Leave a Reply

