Posted in Books

TEN

download (1)Gretchen McNeil – Young Adult horror

Rating: ♣♣♣ (3) liked it

Description:

It was supposed to be the weekend of their lives—an exclusive house party on Henry Island. Best friends Meg and Minnie are looking forward to two days of boys, booze, and fun-filled luxury. But what starts out as fun turns twisted after the discovery of a DVD with a sinister message: Vengeance is mine. And things only get worse from there.

With a storm raging outside, the teens are cut off from the outside world . . . so when a mysterious killer begins picking them off one by one, there’s no escape. As the deaths become more violent and the teens turn on one another, can Meg find the killer before more people die? Or is the killer closer to her than she could ever imagine?

What I thought:

I started the book thinking this is going to be very predictable but, maybe fun like the scary teen movies where the same theme plays over and over. I did predict some of it but, I also was pulled in guessing who I thought the killer was and the personalities. I thought it was good that it addressed female stalking and bullying also. I did have some concerns that this is a young adult book and has so much violence and not a lot of emotion in the violence. I guess that is everywhere for young people today though. I found it interesting and I was pulled in and read it in one night.

A favorite passage in the book:

One of the exciting parts for me is when they in fear run to the neighbors house and are surprised by what they find there. (I will leave it a mystery for those who have not read it).

Where you can find it:

amazon, bookstores, ebay, library

Leave a Reply

