A Monster Calls

Posted: June 16, 2017 in New Movies
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Fantasy with real life struggles and coping of young boy

rating: 2 (slightly disliked)       rotten tomatoes rating: 87%  audience – 82%

description: A visually spectacular drama from director J.A. Bayona (“The Impossible”). 12-year-old Conor (Lewis MacDougall), dealing with his mother’s (Felicity Jones) illness, a less-than-sympathetic grandmother (Sigourney Weaver), and bullying classmates, finds a most unlikely ally when a Monster appears at his bedroom window. Ancient, wild, and relentless, the Monster guides Conor on a journey of courage, faith, and truth. Toby Kebbell plays Conor’s father, and Liam Neeson stars in performance-capture and voiceover as the nocturnally visiting Monster of the title.

What I thought: This is another one that I was so excited for cause so many people like it. For me however maybe i was in a mood that day or just for some reason could not connect well with it. It just felt dark and slow for me. I did love the look of the monster and basically was watching to see what would happen with the monster. I do have to admit i kept feeling distracted while watching it with not much patience but I did not feel moved in it just felt like i was watching it for the effects so it kind of let me down. I did like the graphics however. maybe I will have to give it a try another time but for now it did not do much for me.

favorite part: watching the monster.

would i recommend it: yes cause people should make their own mind up about it. We all see things differently.

Leave a Reply

