Posted in New Books

One of us is lying

YA – fiction- mystery

One of us is lying ~ Karen M. McManus

rating: 2 (slightly disliked it)     goodreads rating: 4.o

description: On Monday afternoon, five students at Bayview High walk into detention.
Bronwyn, the brain, is Yale-bound and never breaks a rule.
Addy, the beauty, is the picture-perfect homecoming princess.
Nate, the criminal, is already on probation for dealing.
Cooper, the athlete, is the all-star baseball pitcher.
And Simon, the outcast, is the creator of Bayview High’s notorious gossip app.
Only, Simon never makes it out of that classroom. Before the end of detention Simon’s dead. And according to investigators, his death wasn’t an accident. On Monday, he died. But on Tuesday, he’d planned to post juicy reveals about all four of his high-profile classmates, which makes all four of them suspects in his murder. Or are they the perfect patsies for a killer who’s still on the loose?
Everyone has secrets, right? What really matters is how far you would go to protect them.

What I thought: I wanted to love this book like so many others have and i tried hard to do that but, for me it fell flat. I just had problems with it being so much like the breakfast club and pretty little liars mixed together. Don’t get me wrong I loved both of those shows however I don’t always enjoy remakes or retelling of stories. I found the characters to be to stereotypical and the storyline and characters to predictable. I felt I already knew the whole book before even getting into it. I was not surprised by the ending at all. I do think it has some redeeming qaulities. It has a modern feel and the little secrets that come out where somewhat fun. One relationship helped me move through the book. I somewhat enjoyed it but did not love it cause nothing was surprising to me.

what was my favorite passage: I guess I would say my favorite part was the interaction between the brain and the criminal even if i did know what would happen.

would i recommend it: hmmmmm. maybe to a teen not sure.

 

Leave a Reply

