Posted in New Movies

The Shack

faith and healing

rating: 4 (enjoyed it)    rotten tomatoes rating: 20% audience -80%

description: Based on the New York Times best-selling novel, The Shack takes us on a father’s uplifting spiritual journey. After suffering a family tragedy, Mack Phillips [Sam Worthington] spirals into a deep depression causing him to question his innermost beliefs. Facing a crisis of faith, he receives a mysterious letter urging him to an abandoned shack deep in the Oregon wilderness. Despite his doubts, Mack journeys to the shack and encounters an enigmatic trio of strangers led by a woman named Papa [Octavia Spencer]. Through this meeting, Mack finds important truths that will transform his understanding of his tragedy and change his life forever.

What I thought:  It has been along time since i read the book which at the time I did not like because I guess was not sure where he was coming from in it. I had rated the book about a 2 (for slightly disliked). However, I gave the movie a shot and I am glad i did. I did enjoy the movie. I understood more of where the author was coming from in it and I loved the gorgeous scenes in the movie. I also loved the cast. There were still a few things in the area of faith that disturbed me a tiny bit but it was his version of what happened so i was okay with it.

would i recommend it: yes. I think those that take it as just an experience he had or a way he coped with what happened to him and dont analyze every single bit of it as the full view of that faith. I think others can appreciate the story.

Leave a Reply

